EDUCATION

and colleges with varying religious affiliations in different parts of the province; but the University of Toronto is the only university supported directly by the province. In 1887 it became a federation, comprising the university itself as undenominational and various other colleges and universities, including the University College, St. Michael's College (Roman Catholic), University of Trinity College and Wycliffe College (Church of England), Victoria University (Methodist), and Knox College (Presbyterian). The following colleges are affiliated to the University, their students obtaining their degrees therefrom: Royal College of Dental Surgeons, Toronto; College of Pharmacy, Toronto; Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph; Veterinary College, Toronto; Toronto Conservatory of Music, Toronto College of Music, Hamilton Conservatory of Music. The governing bodies of the University consist of (1) the board of governors administering the property; (2) the senate controlling the academic side and (3) the caput dealing with discipline. Convocation consists of all the graduates of the university and of federated universities. The universities in other parts of the province, which are not federated with or affiliated to the Toronto University, include Queen's University at Kingston, and the McMaster University at Toronto (Baptist). There are also a number of institutions for special training, including the Royal Military College at Kingston (an institution of the Dominion Government); the Western University, London (Medicine and Arts); the College of Art, Toronto; Conservatories of Music, Ottawa and London.

Manitoba .-- The University, situated at Winnipeg, is the oldest university in the West. It was established in 1877, and affiliated to it are seven colleges, three of which were already in existence when the University was founded. These are St. Boniface, the chief Roman Catholic college in the West, dating from the beginning of the nineteenth century: St. John's, the Church of England college, re-organized in 1866; Manitoba College, organized by the Presbyterian Church in 1871; the Medical College, affiliated in 1882; Wesley College, supported by the Methodist Church, affiliated in 1888; the College of Pharmacy, affiliated in 1902 and since merged in the University Faculty as a department of pharmacy; the Manitoba Agricultural College, affiliated from 1907 to 1912 and again from 1916 onwards, and the Manitoba Law School. established under the joint auspices of the University and the Manitoba Law School in 1914. The University has an endowment of 150,000 acres of land. The property is being sold in parcels from time to time, and the proceeds are invested in trust. The income, which is largely supplemented by grants from the Provincial Government, enables the University to provide higher education at moderate cost. Instruction is given in arts, science, divinity (in affiliated colleges), medicine, law, the various branches of engineering, and also in pharmacy. Extension work is carried on throughout the province, and lecturers from the University give courses in their various subjects. This work has proved very popular in the past, and steps are being taken to enlarge its scope. There were in 1916-17 some 600 students in the University taking work in arts, science, engineering, medicine, law, pharmacy and agriculture. The medical students have ample opportunities for clinical work in the